It is pretty clear that brussel sprouts are the vegetable de jour, as I see them featured as sides in many restaurants around town and a new recipe seems to pop up in the blogosphere about once a week. And why not? They are incredibly healthy, are extremely versatile, are readily available during the winter when we’re all craving something green.

I love the sprouts. Pretty amazing since I only started cooking them two years ago. Now DH and I eat them almost every week. And even with my obsession, I still make us order them when we’re out for dinner.

Want to hear one of the best complements DH has given me in a long time? He’s eaten those fancy sprouts, looks at me, and says “These are good, but I prefer yours.” Sometimes it’s the simple things.

So here is how I prep/roast mine. From here, you can do all sorts of dressings and flavors, but most of the time I find simple is best.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Ingredients
1-2 lbs brussel sprouts
Olive oil
Kosher salt
Fresh black pepper

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and put a rack on the second rack from the top.

Rinse off the sprouts and shake off extra water. Then, chop off the ends of the sprouts and quarter them.

20130329-120359.jpg
Place your sprouts on a cookie sheet. Drizzle with olive oil (about 1 tablespoon) over the sprouts, then sprinkle them with salt and pepper. Work the sprouts around on the cookie sheet until the oil is distributed.

20130329-120707.jpg
Place them in the oven and roast for 15-18 minutes, stopping halfway to stir them. Some of the stand-alone leaves should be getting dark at this point. I have had a few times when they have started to smoke and I’ve still loved them.

20130329-120924.jpg

Enjoy!

