It’s been a looong time since I’ve made something other than dessert where I’ve been thrilled with the outcome. Mostly this was due to being pregnant, as I not only had food aversions (hello spinach and cucumbers), but I also lost a lot of my sense of taste. To me, everything had a metallic undertone to it and I lost my ability to call out flavors in food when DH and I dined out.

20130309-170844.jpg
The other part is that since DB has been born, I have managed to screw up some part of every recipe I’ve tried. I do things in the wrong order (mostly salvageable), forget ingredients when I’m making my grocery list for the week (also workable), or put in the wrong thing altogether (don’t ask)! Some days, baby turns my orderly, analytical, actuarial brain to what feels like the consistency of mushy peas.

20130309-170957.jpg
DB gave me a bit of a break on Friday morning to put this delightful Chickpea and Cauliflower Curry together for lunch. (Well, she did her fair share of fussing still!) It takes a little bit of thought ahead of time to prepare, but it’s mostly hands off time. Serve with your favorite grain (rice, quinoa, etc.), yogurt, and cilantro (which would totally be included in the picture if I had such things on Fridays, which I don’t since I grocery shop on weekends).

I encourage the use of the dried chickpeas – they are meatier and more flavorful than the canned ones, and just require some time on the stove when you’re home watching TV.

20130309-171114.jpg

Chickpea and Cauliflower Curry
Adapted from Naturally Ella
Serves 4-6 as main dish
Total time: 50 mins (or overnight depending on your choice of beans)

20130309-171717.jpg
Ingredients
1 cup dried chickpeas, soaked overnight (or 2 14.5 ounce cans of chickpeas, drained and rinsed)

Spice Mixture
2 tbsp ground turmeric
1 tbsp ground cumin
1 tbsp ground coriander
2 tsp ground yellow mustard
1 tsp ground fennel seed
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
Pinch of ground cloves

Other ingredients
1 tbsp olive oil
1 yellow onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 cups cauliflower chunks (about one small head)
1 can lite coconut milk
1 can low sodium vegetable broth
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
Salt to taste

Steps:

Combine spice mixture in a small bowl

20130309-171239.jpg
In a large skillet, heat olive oil on medium heat. Add onion and sauté for 5-6 minutes, or until soft. Add garlic and cook for 30 seconds, then add spice mixture and heat for another minute

20130309-171452.jpg
Add cauliflower, chickpeas, coconut milk, broth and red pepper. Bring mixture to a simmer and cook for 20-25 minutes. Cauliflower and beans should be tender, but not mushy.

Serve over your grain and with your desired additions. Hope that you enjoy this as much as I did!

20130309-172201.jpg

Beth

