20130228-205021.jpg

Ever notice how your pantry/cupboards/refrigerator seem to accumulate a lot of odds and ends leftover from previous recipes and the best of shopping intentions? I clean out my fridge about once a month and my dry pantries around once per year. That always spurs me to think about how I should use some of those items, but my efforts don’t survive much longer than a week or two, woefully inadequate to make much of a dent.

Ideally, I would keep this effort in mind each week when I plan meals. But right now, I find myself staring at the cupboards trying to figure out how to use items without the extra effort of picking up additional ingredients at the store (the weather hasn’t been conducive to packing up DB for a grocery run lately). So here is a quick recipe I came up with for dinner last night.

Italian White Bean Salad
Makes 3 Servings

1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 of a sweet onion, diced
1-2 garlic cloves, minced
1 can white beans, rinsed and drained
5-6 sundried tomatoes, diced
2 tsp Italian seasoning
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
Parsley flakes for garnish if desired
Grated Parmesan Cheese

Heat olive oil in a small skillet. Add onions and cook for 5 minutes or until soft and tender. Turn off heat and stir in minced garlic.

In a small bowl, combine beans, onion mixture and remaining ingredients through parsley. Serve while onions are warm and top with grated Parmesan.

20130301-085450.jpg

Enjoy this healthy and delicious Italian White Bean Salad!
Beth

