It won’t surprise those of you that know me that I have always had a tendency to wander off. When I was young, maybe three or four, my mother would have me paged in Kmart or ShopKo when she couldn’t find me. This happened more than once, despite the trouble I would get into when we got home. I’m sure my poor mother almost had a heart attack each time she turned around and I was nowhere to be found in the racks of sweaters.

Nowadays, I still wander off, and the last few weeks have been a prime example. I have my reasons for the distraction, but the pager has gone off and I’m coming back around. And while I haven’t been blogging, I have still been cooking.

One benefit of the heat we’ve been having in St. Louis is the bumper crop of tomatoes that keep showing up in our CSA box. I’m trying to keep a positive spin on the tomatoes even though their not my favorite. But this tort was a great way to use some tomatoes.

Tomato and Onion Tart
Makes one 12-inch tart
Adapted from Epicurious

20120715-212130.jpg

Tort Dough
11/4 cup flour
1 tsp salt
2 tbsp sugar
8 tbsp butter
1 egg
Ice water

Combine flour, salt, and sugar. Cut in the butter with a pastry blender until the butter is about the size of dimes. Add the egg, and combine with your hands until the dough starts to come together. If it still isn’t coming together, add a tbsp of ice water at a time until it forms. The dough will be a little crumbly. Wrap it in plastic wrap and put it in the fridge.

Filing
2 large onions, sliced thin
3 tbsp olive oil
2 cups shredded jack or fontina cheese
2 large tomatoes, seeded and diced
1 small can sliced black olives

Heat olive oil in a skillet on medium heat. Add onions, and cook down for 20 – 30 minutes, until they start to brown and carmelize. Turn off the heat.

On a lightly flours surface, roll out the tart dough to the size of your tart pan. Fold into the pan and crimp into the edges, trimming anything that hangs over. Fill the tart dough with your onions. Spread the shredded cheese over the onions, then add the sliced tomatoes and olives.

Bake in a 375 degree oven for an hour.

20120715-215515.jpg

This was especially delicious and DH declared it one of my better dishes (and proceeded to eat it again for breakfast). I highly recommend making the homemade tart dough…this is my favorite dough to make and it’s pretty forgiving.

It’s going to be a long week, I’m afraid. Best to get to bed.

Beth

