20120610-170855.jpg

Last Sunday, I totally told myself that I was going to post recipes from my Indian dinner (supported by TWD’s naan) during the week. But then the week got the best of me. I’m getting slower at recovering from the time changes and flights home late at night. But, this recipe should still be timely, as I’m certainly still getting cabbage from the CSA.

I wonder if I sent them some links if they would pass some of these recipes around to other families? Maybe I’m the only one that feels like it takes a little more effort every week in order to make sure I use all of these lovely veggies.

I made this as a side dish, but then ate it as a main dish for lunch the following day. It’s very easy and has a good amount of spice and flavor. And healthy too!

Indian Cabbage and Peas (C’s and P’s)

20120610-170944.jpg

2 tbsp canola oil
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground mustard
2 tsp ground cumin
2 bay leaves
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground turmeric
1/2 tsp salt
1 head of cabbage, finely shredded
2 1/2 cups frozen peas
1 cup water
1 tbsp butter
2 tsp garam masala
Juice from 1/2 lemon

Heat the oil in a large skillet. Add the spices (all the way through salt) and cook with oil until they become fragrant, about 2 minutes.

Add the cabbage and sauté it in the spices until it cooks down, about 10-15 minutes. Add the water and the peas, cover and cook for another 20 minutes.

Uncover, and stir in the butter, garam masala, and lemon juice. Cook uncovered again for another 5-10 minutes or until there is very little juice left.

I tasted this right after adding the last of the ingredients and added a bit more spice (cumin and garam masala) to my own taste. You may do something different depending on what you like. Enjoy!

Beth

