What is it about the smell of homemade cookies that can make all of your current bothers melt away? And chai gelato, but that is a whole other post.

20120529-212004.jpg

Growing up, my sisters and I were fortunate that we generally had homemade cookies around the house. Mom’s favorite was the original toll house recipe, made with a mix of chocolate and butterscotch chips. As I got older, baking cookies was about the only cooking task I was allowed to do short of Hamburger Helper – I guess Mom was willing to tolerate the mess in her kitchen for a taste of those cookies.

Now that I’m older (but still make a ridiculous mess baking in my own kitchen), I don’t bake cookies nearly as often because it’s just DH and I at home. I was finally able to spend some time at home this weekend, and my therapy of choice were these cookies. I usually make them at Christmas, but for some odd reason I was craving oatmeal cookies, and I tend to think oatmeal cookies taste best when stuffed with something (with the exception of raisins, which I only eat in the situations when I am duped into thinking they are a chocolate chip cookie).

Try these….they are super quick to make and are awesome!

Cranberry, White Chocolate, and Oatmeal cookies
Adapted from Cooking Light
Makes two dozen cookies

3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 butter, softened
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
3/4 cup flour
1 cup regular oats
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup chopped cranberries
2 oz white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Cream butter and brown sugar together in the mixer. Add vanilla and egg until combined.

In a separate bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. Add slowly to the wet ingredients, mix until combined. Stir in cranberries and chocolate by hand.

Spray cookies sheets with cooking spray. Drop dough by tablespoons. Bake for 12 minutes or until lightly browned. Let cool briefly on sheet, then move to a wire rack.

Enjoy!!

Beth

