Happy Memorial Day weekend! I can’t believe that May is almost over, and yet I’ll be grateful when it is as it will hopefully mean I will be traveling a little bit less. But I have to keep up at my current pace for at least another week. Blech.

I’ve spent my entire weekend doing nothing much at all, which has been wonderful! Sometimes I just need a few days away from the world and home with the kitties. And so far they haven’t gotten too terribly annoyed with me.

When I got home from work on Friday night, I discovered that we had several veggie options in the fridge for this week’s CSA share. So Saturday morning I spent some time thinking about how to use all of them in the most efficient manner possible. And I came up with a Panzanella salad. I want to call this a summer Panzanella since it’s already 98 degrees out, but I feel like that would lead to the traditional Panzanella with tomatoes and basil. This is not that. So I call it my Late Spring Panzanella. It’s delicious and enjoyable even on a hot summer’s night.

Late Spring Panzanella

20120527-161535.jpg
Salad
1 head radicchio, shredded
1/2 head cabbage, shredded
1 loaf day old sourdough bread (although I used an Italian loaf I found at WF)
2 pints blackberries
1 bunch green onions, diced
Olive oil
Kosher salt
Black pepper
Grilled chicken (optional)
Feta
Lemon vinaigrette (below)

Steps:
Cube up you bread onto a cookie sheet. Toss with 3-4 tbsp of olive oil, and a dash of salt and pepper. Bake in a 400 degree oven for about 7-8 minutes, or until toasted.

20120527-161925.jpg
I’m a sucker for a fresh loaf of bread (as evidenced by the hunk that was already missing by the time I took this picture)

Combine veggies and blackberries in a large bowl. Toss in feta and crusty bread. Top with lemon vinaigrette and serve with chicken.

Lemon Vinaigrette
In a small bowl, whisk together
Zest of one lemon
Juice of one lemon
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tsp dried thyme
Salt and pepper to taste

Hope you are resting easy this Memorial Day weekend!
Beth

