Do you ever find yourself wanting to disappear? I find that I’m quite good at it. When something is on my mind, I pretty much disappear into it (obsession maybe?). And then when I finally am done with one obsession, I find a way to disappear into something else. It’s my own little version of work-life balance….and a way to try to minimize the ridiculous amount of multi-tasking that we modern ladies seem to have to do in order to stay relevant.

After a month of disappearance into work (and prior to what looks to be like another month’s worth), I relocated my disappearing act to home. Mostly because I realized that DH and I hadn’t washed the dishes in over a week. And I couldn’t really walk in the front door anymore because there were two weeks’ worth of shoes (yes, different ones!) blocking the entryway. I thought this kind of stuff stopped happening by the time you’re 30….like the switch just comes on and suddenly both you and your husband actually clean up after yourselves. It has most definitely not switched on here.

To celebrate a clean kitchen, I decided to destroy it again yesterday afternoon with my next Baking with Dorie recipe and a pot of soup from Cook This Now. I’ve been meaning to try this one for a few weeks because it has coconut milk, and I pretty much love anything with coconut milk (coincidentally, I made the mistake of getting my lipids tested after our trip to Thailand where I ate coconut milk 3 times a day…..not good!)

I adapted this recipe from Melissa Clark’s Cook This Now. Her version was delicious, but I added a few things to adjust it to my taste (and I admit, hide some of the tomato flavor).

Curried Tomato Soup
Adapted from Cook This Now

20120429-212425.jpg

2 tbsp olive oil
1 sweet yellow onion, diced
1 1/2 tsp salt
3 tsp curry powder
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
Pinch chili powder
32 oz vegetable broth, no salt
1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes, no salt added
1 can lite coconut milk
1 tsp Thai curry paste (optional)
Chopped basil for garnish

Heat oil in stockpot. Add onions, sauté them on medium low heat for about 12-15 minutes, or until really tender. Add spices, sauté for another 2 minutes or until the onions are very fragrant.

20120429-213147.jpg

Add the vegetable broth and the tomatoes. Bring soup up to a simmer for about 20 minutes. Stir in the coconut milk and curry paste. Stir in the basil just prior to serving.

This soup fits the bill for comforting and rich. Highly recommended and easy to do!

20120429-213640.jpg

Unfortunately I have to undisappear tomorrow for what is shaping up to be a pretty crazy week. Time for bed!

Beth

