I only made it three weeks into January before I got back to making desserts. It doesn’t take long before I get antsy. It might have had something to do with the arrival of my Christmas present, one that has a convection fan that actually runs and a cooktop that doesn’t have burnt on stains.

This year I am trying to cook my way through Melissa Clark’s Cook This Now. She has seasonal recipes by month and so far, they have been delightful. So my foray back into desserts was her Baked Apples with Cardamom Crumble.

Have you ever cooked with cardamom? I fell in love with it due to my mother’s honey cardamom crunch that she makes every Christmas. It’s the most sophisticated Chex Mix snack ever. But it hooked me on the spicy cinnamony flavor of cardamom.

Baked Apples with Cardamom Crunch
Adapted from Cook This Now

20120124-212854.jpg

Fruit Mixture
3 tbsp brandy
1 cup dried fruit (cranberries or cherries)
4 large Fuji or Gala apples, cut into slices
2 tbsp white sugar
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tsp ground cardamom
2 tbsp melted butter

Preheat oven to 375.

Toss fruit mixture ingredients into a bowl. Lightly grease a 9×9 square pan. Pour apple mixture into the pan.

Crumble Mixture
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup oats
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp ground cardamom
1/2 tsp ground ginger
Dash of kosher salt
1/2 cup cold butter, cut into pieces

Stir together crumble mixture. Using pastry blender or knife, cut butter into the crumble mixture until butter pieces are smaller than dime size. Add this to the top of the fruit mixture. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until apples are cooked through.

Serve warm, with a little bit of vanilla ice cream.

Love it!

Beth

