It’s amazing how disorganized I’ve become. I used to have a planned schedule. I never forgot to do things b/c they were all written down. I did productive things after work. When I needed to make a decision, I made it and moved on.

Over the last year, I’ve found myself moving away from a regimen. I don’t keep a list, and that probably means I’m forgetting things. (Course I don’t leave the office as upset that I didn’t get done what I was supposed to get done b/c I’ve forgotten!). And I’m spending the majority of my evenings curled up with a book. But I am making supper more often. While I don’t feel like I’m being all that I can be, I’m happier with my current arrangement.

I picked up Stir-Frying to the Sky’s Edge over Christmas thanks to gift cards from the previous year. So far, it has been a great book to turn to for weeknight suppers. Most recipes can be made in about the time it takes you to cook rice (real rice, not the instant rice! You are cooking dinner here!). It does require use of a wok….I have an electric one that my parents gave me when I moved out on my own…but I will shortly be buying a stovetop one that heats all the way up the sides so I can do these stir-fries justice.

Here is one DH helped me makes the other evening. It was delicious and healthy, and I highly recommend it.

Stir-Fried Hoisin Pork with Peppers
adapted from Stir-frying to the Sky’s Edge

20120119-054447.jpg

Ingredients
1 lb lean pork tenderloin, trimmed and thinly sliced
1/4 cup minced scallions, plus 1/4 cup finely sliced scallions
3 tbsp hoisin sauce
1 tbsp minced garlic
2 tsp rice wine
1 tsp minced ginger
1 tsp soy sauce
2 tsp sesame oil
2 tbsp peanut oil
1 large bell pepper, green or red
1/4 cup thinly sliced carrots (I used more cuz I like ’em)
2 tsp rice wine vinegar
Salt and pepper

In a medium bowl, combine pork, minced scallions, hoisin, garlic, rice wine, ginger, soy sauce and 1/8 tsp each salt and pepper.

Heat your wok to high heat, swirl in 1 tbsp of peanut oil. Add the pork carefully (it will splatter) and arrange it so it is all flat in a single layer. Cook for about 1 minute to let pork sear, then turn it over and cook for another minute. Then stir-fry 1 minute and remove to another bowl. The pork will still be a little pink inside at this point.

Add remaining peanut oil, and stir-fry peppers and carrots until veggies start to get soft. Add pork with all juices, the other scallions, and rice wine vinegar and stir-fry until pork is cooked through.
Serve with basmati rice. Should make 2-3 servings.

(note, some of these ingredients may seem strange, but most of the large grocery stores have a big Asian section nowadays. Otherwise head over to an international food market for some fun staring at all the different products out there!)

Beth

