DH and I were woken up this morning twice (at 3 AND 4 AM) with the goofiest thunderstorm in January, complete with thunder, lightning, hail and tornado sirens. Poor Gracie was a complete nervous wreck. And my poor Mini was sitting outside on the driveway. 😦 Both have survived the trauma, although I’m pretty sure Gracie was laying in the exact same position on the bed when I got home tonight as she was when I left for work. On my black sweater. Which is now white.

20120117-211241.jpg

The pill.

Despite my lack of sleep, I’ve remained committed to making sure I’m eating healthy (because let’s face it, there is always a perfectly good excuse that we can use to rationalize stuffing our faces with Nachomama’s enchiladas instead of a salad). I adapted this salad from a recipe I picked up in food photography class last fall, originally posted at Sounding My Barbaric Gulp

20120117-212319.jpg
Obv. Food photography class was more beneficial for the recipes than any photography skills!

Winter Panzanella Salad

Croutons
2 cups day old bread, broken into pieces (I used sourdough)
2-3 tbsp olive oil
1 clove minced garlic
Salt And pepper

Heat oven to 400. Spread bread out on a baking sheet. Toss with olive oil and garlic, then add some salt and pepper. Roast for 7-8 minutes or until toasty. Let cool.

Salad
1 head radicchio, sliced and chopped
1 lb brussel sprouts, cleaned and quartered
4 slices of thick cut bacon, cooked and broken into small pieces
2 Fuji apples, diced
Seeds from half of a pomegranate
Shaved Parmesan cheese

Dressing

1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1 tsp sugar
1-2 tsp dried thyme
Salt and pepper

Combine all ingredients (including croutons in a very large bowl). Toss with dressing and serve. Will keep for 2-3 days, although radicchio may get a bit bitter over time.

A winter salad that doesn’t feel like bird food! Woo-hoo! Enjoy!

Beth

