It won’t be a surprise to anyone who knows me that I more than maximized my holiday time off. I was grateful to not spend two days in the car, and instead I:
1. Cleaned the house, twice
2. Painted the ceiling of two rooms, and re-painted our study/laundry room
3. Did 15 loads of laundry
4. Ran more errands than I care to remember (I think I was at the mall more during December than I was during the entire 11 months previously in 2011).
5. Cleaned out three closets and re-organized my jewelry box
6. Saw 3 movies in the theatre, another on Netflix, caught up on plenty of 30 Rock and found a new BBC program on Sherlock Holmes that is delightful
7. Baked half a dozen different cookies as well as made homemade cinnamon rolls
8. Tore our kitchen apart at least 4 times, of which DH graciously helped me clean up each time

All in all I rather enjoyed myself. And now I am sitting in bed, watching The Closer, trying to convince myself that 11 is a perfectly acceptable time to go to bed when the alarm is set for 5. And to mentally prepare myself for going back to work and getting back in gear (I haven’t really been in gear since vacation, and I’m not fully sure I want to be there either).

Fair warning, I might be a little cranky as I wean myself off the sugar and alcohol that I subsisted on during the holidays. To ease the pain, I will be eating this as part of my detox, borrowed from Two Peas & Their Pod

2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 medium red onion, roughly diced
2 tbsp olive oil
1 large bunch kale
1 cup quinoa
3 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup dried cranberries
Pine nuts

Place sweet potatoes and red onions on a baking sheet. Toss with olive oil, and season slight with salt and pepper. Roast at 400 for 25-30 minutes, or until soft. Add to a large bowl. Then place kale pieces on the baking sheet- roast until dark green (I put mine on the top shelf to get a little crispy)-about 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, place 2 cups of water and the quinoa in a saucepan. Being to a boil for about 2-3 minutes, then turn the heat down and simmer until water is go e ( about 15 minutes). Add cooked quinoa to bowl.

Toss with balsamic, then add the dried cranberries. Serve with some pine nuts for a nice crunch.

You’ll catch me chewing down over lunch. Best of luck heading back to the old grind.

Beth

20120102-223414.jpg

