20111008-191136.jpg

The last of the garden is a bit of a misnomer (fancy words from an actuary!) I ended up having two veggies actually grow this year – cucumbers and jalepeno’s. Neither one was my favorite to begin with…I was really hoping that the sweet peas would grow, but the bunny’s apparently like them as much as I do. Needless to say, it’s been a bumper crop of spicy and crunchy.

I made the mistake the other day of deciding to chop up all of my peppers to freeze. It wasn’t just my peppers, it was also the CSA’s peppers!!! It wouldn’t have been such of a mistake if I had worn gloves. But I didn’t. And my fingers stung for the next two days straight. And now there are 3 freezer baggies full of peppers for Indian cooking this winter (poor DH).

I saved one of the peppers to make with this cucumber salad. I don’t really know what else to do with the cukes other than make a salad. This one initially attracted me because of the sezchuan peppers. I love those things. Makes me want a big bowl of sezchuan beef at my favorite Chinese joint (the kind of place where you’re surrounded by Chinese families with huge circular tables filled with food). Oh man is that a sucky thought when I’m hungry and stuck in rapid city south Dakota due to weather and the likelihood of making it to stl tonight is slim to none.

Back to cucumbers. And peppers. Try this if you’re looking to a light addition to an Asian inspired meal. And dream of delish Chinese.

Sichuan Cucumber Salad from Appetite for China

1 large or 2 medium-sized cucumbers. Don’t peel, but seed
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons canola oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon whole sezchuan pepper
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon chili garlic paste

Cut the cucumber in half, then slice. Place cucumber in colander and stir in the salt. Wait for 20-30 minutes while water leaves cucumbers.

In a small skillet, heat oil on medium heat. Add garlic and sezchuan peppers and cook for 30 seconds to 1 minute, until fragrant. Remove from heat.

Whisk together remaining ingredients. In a bowl, combine the cucumber, spices, and dressing. Is very nice still warm, but will keep in fridge for a day or two.

