Like clockwork, it’s yet another time of the year when the pathetic excuse for my normal day to day balance implodes.   What is it this time?  Normal work stuff combined with trying to wrap up my last CFA exam.  After this, there will be no more standardized, 300-study hour exams.

Yet after all this time, you’d think I’d have learned some coping strategies to not let things get too overwhelming, right?   Eat right, exercise, get plenty of sleep.

Even with all that, I still suck.   I’ve only got 2% of my brain able to function on something other than the exam and work. 

I realized that I posted two quinoa recipes in a row.  I’m really a newcomer to quinoa, so I did not intend for that to happen.  I guess the 2% of my functional brain couldn’t put two and two together. 

Last week, I took a break one evening  after studying to make an adaptation of a bean salad in Cooking Light.  (yes, I have a thing for beans. There is no explaining this).  It was delicious – AND DH even had it for lunch the desk day and enjoyed it as well. 

Steak and Edamame Salad Adapted from Cooking Light

Very easy - and who doesn't love cucumbers in soy and ginger?


3 cups frozen edamame, cooked according to instructions
2 Tbsp light soy sauce
1 Tbsp minced ginger
1 Tbsp Light Miracle Whip
1 Tbsp Dijon Mustard
2 tsp rice wine vinegar
1 tsp sesame oil
1 1/2 cups diced cucumber
green onions, diced
1 Tbsp olive oil
8 oz flank steak, sliced thin
salt and pepper

Heat oil in skillet over high heat.  Add steak pieces, salt, and pepper, cook five minutes until done and slightly crispy. 

Combine dressing ingredients (soy sauce through oil) in a bowl with a whisk.  Stir in edamame, cucumber, green onions, and steak.  It will be even better the next day.

Back to it unfortunately.

Beth
