We have had so much rain the past month that I think it’s going to take until August before our basement dries out ūüė¶

A little depressing, but I’ve been at the office so much I haven’t really noticed.¬†

Found an interesting article on Ms.JD discussing how to manage stress long term. ¬†I tend to think my job is a little like an attorney’s – as a consultant, I work every day with clients, juggle multiple projects, and have an unlimited number of ways to get myself¬†over-committed. ¬† The toughest part of my job right now isn’t necessarily working with my clients, but helping other consultants work with their clients! ¬†An entire group of people who are equally (if not more) neurotic than me!

Right now, I’m more interested in thinking about WHY I try to do so many things to the point where my mind runs non-stop. ¬†I know and practice all of the day to day coping strategies, but what I’m trying to figure out is how you balance your professional and personal life long-term to balance the up and down cycle so that the potential for burn-out is limited.

Currently, my progress is an epic fail. I’ll keep you updated.

In the meantime, a stressed-out girl has to eat something other than chocolate and wine (they really don’t approve of wine during the workday). ¬†This was a simple salad I was able to make quickly for lunch during the week and it was lovely. ¬†

Nothing fancy, but vastly superior to take-out


Quinoa and Black Bean Salad
2 cups of low-salt vegetable broth
1 cup quinoa, rinsed
1 tbsp canola oil
1 yellow onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, diced
1 can black beans, rinsed
1/2 red pepper, diced
1 cup frozen corn, thawed
2 tsp cumin and 1 TBSP olive oil for dressing

Bring veggie broth to a boil in a saucepan.  Add quinoa, cover, and simmer for 30 minutes until the quinoa has absorbed the liquid.  Limit the urge to peek!

Heat the canola oil and cook the onion  for 5 Р7 minutes, until translucent.  Add the garlic and cook for 30 second.  Stir in all the ingredients in a bowl Рwill keep for 3-4 days in the fridge.

Off to get some work done, of course just as the sun is coming out.  Blah.

Beth 

