Earlier in this blog, I have made many references to my love for Thai take-out.  A close second is Vietnamese Pho, especially the Pho from Pho Grand.  So one Sunday afternoon, searching for a diversion from CFA studying (which really looks like a bad idea now, in retrospect), my DomesticSis and I decided to throw ourselves a little Thai/Vietnamese party. 

Actually, DomesticSis just wanted to make spring rolls.  I was the driving force behind turning it into a little party.  On the menu?
Vietnamese Spring Rolls
Chicken Satay with Homemade Peanut Sauce
Tom Kha Soup

 

I think it was just an excuse to dirty all of my dishes

The Soup was a little disappointing, so the recipe will not be showing up here (although, I will continue searching!)  The chicken satay and spring rolls were awesome!  I had looked for a good tutorial on spring rolls earlier, and could not find one.  So, I’ll share how DomesticSis and I put it together.

First – Ingredients
2 – 3 oz vermicelli rice noodles, cooked according to directions
rice paper wrappers
1 lb large cooked shrimp – deveined, and either roasted or sauteed in a little olive oil
Fresh herbs – Thai basil, mint, and cilantro – chopped up
Fresh lettuce, also chopped

We’ll get to the dipping sauces in a minute.  Trust me, you will want to go there.

First, we placed everything out on the board. 

Herbs and Herbs...guess what will be planted in the garden this summer?

Then, we had to make sure we had the right kind of wrappers!

 

Not quite....no chinese tonight

 Thank goodness the international food market is five minutes away from our house! 

Yep! And, 60 wrappers for all of 3 bucks!

 And now, for the assembling!

First, moisten a rice paper wrapper in a bowl of warm water – about 2 – 3 seconds.  Then, lay out on a cutting board.  Add the vermicelli rice noodles, layer the shrimp, and then top with the lettuce and herbs.   

 

Like a mini-vermicelli rice noodle salad

 

 Fold in both the left and right edges, then roll the rice paper.  It will stick together without a problem.  And they will be beautiful!

 

DomesticSis and I were quite proud of ourselves!

 

 Lastly, but perhaps most important, the sauces!  Typically when we’re at Vietnamese restaurants, we see spring rolls served with a fish sauce.  But sometimes they’re also served with a hoisin sauce as well.  So that’s what we did.  I totally cheated on the hoisin sauce – we simply took store-bought hoisin sauce, added water to thin it, and topped it with chopped peanuts.  Yum!

For the fish sauce,
4 tsp fish sauce
1/4 cup water
2 Tbsp fresh lime juice
1 clove minced garlic
2 Tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp chili garlic sauce
shredded carrots

Beautiful!

 

Hoisin sauce, fish sauce, and a peanut sauce (to come!)

 

 Aside from the wayward soup, it was a successful Thai dinner party!

 I highly recommend trying these spring rolls this summer!  Especially when you have a little surplus basil growing in the garden!

Beth

