After the mess of travel for the last three weeks (snowed-in in Minneapolis, several days in Sioux City, and a couple of days in NYC chasing down investment bankers), let’s just say that the house was in need of some TLC.  Sad to say, there were many rooms where walking through them required some serious dancing ability. 

So I cleaned.  And washed.  And vacuumed.  And dusted, as the warm weather has convinced this little gal that it’s time to shed all of her coat.  Ugh. 

It’s the grey & white one that’s the furrball….

I have now called a housekeeper.  Once the weather is nicer and I’ve got a garder to tend to, I won’t be able to keep up.  I probably should be able to keep up, but I like to go to sleep at night.  I realized this as I saw my tulips popping up.  Stupid tulips….it’s still February.

But I still cook.  And on weekends like this, I like to cook something that I can prep and let be.  Thus, homemade tomato sauce with meatballs!

Served with DH's homemade pasta. And wine. Plenty of wine.

Tomato Sauce
2 28 oz cans crushed tomatoes
1 28 oz can diced tomatoes with italian seasoning
5 – 6 cloves garlic, diced
1 large onion, diced
Small pinch of cloves
2 -3 Tbsl dried  basis
1 tsp salt
1 tsp ground black pepper
2 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
2 – 3 Tbsp balsamic vinaigrette

In a large pot, saute onions and garlic in the olive oil until translucent.  Add tomatoes and all ingredients (except balsamic) to pot to simmer.  Add meatballs at this point.  Simmer for at least 3 hours, then add the balsamic to taste right before serving.

Meatballs
1 lb lean ground beef or ground turkey
1 egg
1/4 cup skim milk
1/2 cup italian breadcrumbs
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbsp dried oregano
1 Tbsp dried parsley
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp ground pepper
1/4 cup fresh parmesan cheese

Mix ingredients in a metal bowl by hand.  Roll into balls (about the size of golf balls.  Drop into the sauce to simmer!

Assuming I buy the right canned tomatoes, it turns out rich and thick every time.  I very rarely make a recipe more than once, but this is one we can count on (and I can whip it together and be out of the kitchen before DH destroys it making pasta).

Here’s to hoping I can find a good housekeeper.  And can hopefully keep my feet in St. Louis for the next couple of weeks.

Beth



