After 3 days on the road, DH and I finally got home this afternoon (just in time to turn around and head back to work – ick!)  I decided I needed a good distraction, as cleaning up the house wasn’t going to help my ‘tude.  Cupcakes it was.  I may regret that decision later this week.  I may regret that decision when I try to get into my suit tomorrow.  Although, after this weekend, I don’t know if it’s really fair to blame the cupcakes.

So, cupcakes.  I turned to Annie’s Eats, a blog that I have followed for quite a while, and she has not steered me wrong on a desert yet.  DH’s choice for cupcakes?  Coffee Stout Cupcakes with Bailey’s Buttercream.  I’m going to link to Annie’s recipe here – I made mine pretty close to hers, except that I chose to use a local beer – Schlafy’s coffee stout – in the cupcake.  It’s made with Kaldi’s coffee.  I could write an entire tribute to Kaldi’s.  I will some day.

Here’s some pictures of the cupcakes in the making.  I’m happy to say that this time, the cupcakes turned out!

    Dee-licious.  I’m sure hoping that the weather starts to get warmer so that I can run outside….goodness knows I haven’t been getting to the gym AND I keep baking cupcakes.  To work they go, I’m afraid.  (After DH picks out his keepers).

Beth

