Whoo, have I been a bad blogger.  With the holidays and the mess that is January at my office, I have NOT had much time to do much. 

Except watch infomercials of the latest Beachbody product.  I can watch the entire commercials for TurboFire with my mouth gaping open at those crazy women.  And I get kind of wrapped up in it all and have caught myself seriously thinking about ordering it.

And then I get distracted.  By pear galette.  I believe that it’s much healthier for me than jumping around in my basement until I puke.  It has pears! 

I used my sister’s birthday as an excuse to make it.  I managed to devour half of it over last weekend.  That’s burned off with a 5K run, right?  Ah well, chalk it up t0 my desire to make sure my meager pastry skills don’t get any worse.

To make Crust:
1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup coarse cornmeal
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup cold butter, cut into small pieces
1/3 cup skim milk
ice water, as needed.

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Cut in butter using a pastry blender – bigger chunks of butter is better! (approximately size of dimes is still OK).  Slowly add the milk and combine with your hands into a ball.  If dough is still crumbly (is that a word?), then add ice water until dough comes together.  Wrap in plastic wrap and place in fridge.

Preheat oven to 350.  Slice 3 bartlett pears in thin slices.  Unwrap cold dough and roll out to a 14-15 inch circle.  Transfer the dough to a cookie sheet  at this point (trust me!)  Brush the bottom of the dough with apricot preserves.  Arrange pears in the center of the dough, leaving 2 – 3 inches of space at edges.  (Make the pears into a circular pattern – it will look pretty!)

Fold the edges of the dough just over the edges of the pears.  Brush dough with a beaten egg.   Bake for 45-50 minutes or until pears are soft and crust is golden.  Cool on a wire rack.

Perfect weekend diversion

I highly recommend this one!  And it would be easy to modify to use other fruits.  You know, for that trip to the farmer’s market where you buy so much produce you’re still finding it in your fridge a week and a half later.

Beth

