I’m a greens gal.  Every kind of greens.  Except brussel sprouts.  They smell funky.

I adapted this dish from Giada De Laurentis from foodnetwork.com. It was my favorite dish at Thanksgiving.  Greens.  Go figure. I only made the turkey for DH.  And somehow my sister failed to get a picture of the turkey.  But I digress.

This is a very quick recipe. No needs to be a perky quasi-Cali/Italian gal with a perky chest to pull it off.  It will become my new go-to greens standard.  I would recommend trying it with some fresh parmesan-reggiano from The Merch.

 

 

It's easy being green when you're dee-licious

 

Kale and Green Beans with Parmesan

1 Tbl olive oil
1 onion, diced
8 oz cremini mushrooms, sliced
2 lbs green beans, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1/4 white wine or white wine vinegar
1/2 Tbl curshed red pepper flakes

   
2 bunches of kale, washed and stemmed
fresh juice of 1/2 lemon
Grated Parmesan
Warm the olive oil in a large skillet.  Add onions and cook until translucent.  Add mushrooms, green beans, salt, and pepper.  Cook for 2-3 mins, then add white wine and cook until green beans are tender.  Add kale and red pepper, cook down until kale is wilted.  (I always have to add the kale a bit at a time, b/c I always buy too much kale.  It’s a sickness).

Once everything has cooked down, add the lemon juice.  Transfer to a serving dish and grate fresh parmesan cheese over the greens.  You will be happy.   If not, bring me the leftovers.

Beth

 

