Holy cow am I ready for the weekend.  And I even took a few days off this week!  I have been trying to get some decorating done around the house, but I have had some serious Fails.  On thie list:  get the dining room decorated before I host Thanksgiving dinner.

 

 

Yes, I am a messy painter.  I love the new coffee color…but HATE having to repaint the white .  But it must be done since previous painters were not very neat, but UGH!

 

Other projects I’ve been working on? Adding a little bit more color to our kitchen (although there is already a lot of color in the kitchen!)

  And don’t my grandmother’s bells look cool?   I need to get one more from my mom’s place.

 

Due to all the projects (and cleaning, laundry, and other mundane household tasks) I have barely cooked a thing.  Poor DH!  But I did find time to whip up one of our favorites – adapted from Cooking Light.

 

 

 

Herbed Chicken Parmesan (Serves 4)

2 Tbls grated Parmesan Cheese

1/4 cup Italian Breadcrumbs

1 Tbl dried Parsley

1/2 tsp dried Basil

1/4 tsp salt

1 large egg white, lightly beaten

1 lb chicken breast tenderloins

1 Tbl butter

1 1/2 cups marinara sauce

2 tsp balsamic vinegar

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/3 cup shredded provolone cheese

Directions:

Preheat broiler.

Combine parmesan, breadcrumbs, Parsley, basil and salt in a bowl.  Add egg white to another bowl.  Melt butter in a large skillet.  Dredge chicken in the egg white, then breadcrumbs.  Place in pan – cook 3 minutes per side until done.

Combine marinara, balsamic, and black pepper in a bowl.  Pour over the chicken and allow to heat through.  Top with provolone cheese.  Wrap pan handle in foil and place in oven.  Broil for 2 minutes until the cheese melts.

I serve with Orzo – but it’s good over any kind of pasta.  According to CL’s site, calories for the chicken with sauce is 308!  Good!  And it’s very very easy after a busy day of work (or painting). 

I have a lot of recipes to post – just been uber-busy.  Will try my best to post some other yummy, healthy recipes soon!

Beth

