I’ve been thoroughly enjoying my informal dive into Chinese cooking this week!  I brought the cookbook with me to the office on Friday morning, specially to find some time to pick out something easy to make for Friday night’s dinner (It’s about the only night during the week when I’m home by 6, so I try to cook!)  Settled on Pork Slivers with Yellow Chives (jiu huang rou si) and stir-fried mushrooms (shan zhen hui).

 

Aside from a slight substitution of European chives instead of chinese yellow chives, dinner was coming along swimmingly.   Until I looked more closely at the mushroom recipe.  It called for 3 Tbl of chicken fat.  Um, ICK.

 

What to do since my mushrooms were already cooking away in the wok?  I already had garlic, and remembered another recipe from The Spendid Table’s cookbook which had ginger, miso, etc with mushrooms.  Since dinner was Chinese, I added a bit of ginger paste and light soy sauce.  And it was awesome.   Both DH and I have become a huge fan of mushrooms and this was one of the better recipes we’ve tried.  Yay for salvaging the ‘shrooms!

 

<sorry for the bad picture – I’m going to have to take some photography classes at the community college!>

 

 

The pork dish was just ‘meh,’ but I leave you with my approximate recipe for stir-fried mushrooms.

 

Chinese-Inspired Stir-fried Mushrooms

1 lb of mixed mushrooms – I like Shitake and Baby Bella

1 Tbl peanut oil

2 plump cloves of garlic, chopped

1 tsp ginger paste

1 Tbl light soy sauce

 

In wok, heat oil until just smoking.  Add garlic and ginger and stir-fry briskly until fragrant (about 30 seconds).  Toss in mushrooms and stir-fry for 3 minutes.  Add in the soy sauce and serve!

 

I’m off to get a run in before it gets too hot.  On Wednesday I ran a loop of 3.5 miles without too much trouble – I’d like to see if I can get it to 4 today!

 

Beth

