I was grateful that I happened to have all the ingredients for the semolina bread, as it seemed that this recipe took up every spare moment I had this weekend. Actually, that is more of a reflection of how busy I was this weekend than the complexity of this recipe, but it did require some advance planning to squeeze the baking and rising in with meetings and appointments.

Oh, and I had to bake the bread at 9 at night since it’s been above 90 degrees here for three some weeks and I can barely handle any more heat.

Since Saturday was really booked (we are starting a project to redo our basement and I also realized I was so far behind on my routine errands that the dry cleaners had a few of my suit jackets for a good 5 weeks), I only had time to make the sponge. So sponge-making I did that afternoon, and then I took a risk and placed it in the fridge after the recommended hour on the counter.

20120717-220600.jpg
Still looks the same after 14 cold hours later.

Then Sunday I brought the sponge up to room temperature and mixed it with flours and salt. And yes, I do actually have semolina flour on hand at all times for when DH decides he needs to destroy our kitchen making pasta. For the first time with a TWD recipe, I used the food processor method. I’m usually not keen on the FoodPro…while it works beautifully, I am secretly terrified of having to wash it myself as I’m afraid of cutting myself (and have no idea how the thing fits together again once I’m done).

20120717-221106.jpg

Then, the test. Did keeping the sponge overnight in the fridge do my dough any harm?

20120717-221148.jpg

I am happy to report…No!

20120717-221210.jpg

Once the first rise was complete, I kneaded the dough into a loaf for the second rise. This one did not rise a ton, but I wonder if some of the issue was that my loaf size was pretty spread out. But as it is, the loaf did rise somewhat prior to baking.

I baked for the exact time as the outside of the loaf was so hard I was afraid I had over baked it since my loaf was so flat. But when I finally cut into it on Monday morning, it was easy to cut and very chewy. I don’t know if it’s supposed to be chewy, but I haven’t minded this week.

Oh, and I am of the camp that there is too much salt in this loaf. Or, due to the semolina flour, it just seemed especially salty to my taste. But it’s still a nice hunk of bread that didn’t require all that much hands-on time to make.

20120717-221829.jpg

Visit our hosts beautiful pages (Annaatkeepitlice and Renee at The Way to My Family’s Heart for this recipe. Hopefully I will be back up and blogging more frequently soon!

Beth

